Monday, September 3, 2012

Infoaxe.net is a Phishing Site


Beware Flip, Flipora or Infoaxe. They are all the same thing.

I received the mail above (I blacked out the email address details). Everything about it looked as though my mom had sent it to me. My husband received one at the same time. It's possible that someone we both know received an email like this, apparently from a friend, after they "signed up" for this "social network" by clicking innocently on that big red Yes!, up there.

Do not click Yes.

When you click Yes! Infoaxe is immediately given access to your entire email address book. It then sends this spam email to every person in your address book, without your consent. They then count people who mistakenly clicked Yes, as bona fide members of their social network. They do not have members, in my opinion - they simply have stolen email addresses.

The company responsible is Flip, Flipora or Infoaxe.

Google's spam filter did not catch it for me.

If this is not phishing I don't know what is. If you receive the same email, click nothing. And forward the email to spam@uce.gov.

And if you use Gmail, click on the button to the right of Reply and in the dropdown menu click Report Phishing. And then stick it safely in your Spam folder.

Here's more info about the spam mails from Gotham Geeks.

And here is a remarkably uncritical view of the company responsible for this phishing, by Tech Crunch.

3 comments:

  1. I just hate this sort of trash. Why do the greedy have tocause hassle for the rest of us?

    ReplyDelete
  2. If you take it to spam, who go to spam is your friend, not infoaxe.net. It is the worst phishing and spam i never see. And gmail never see what happend, we can not write to gmail...but can acusse the case showing it with Print Screen, Page in a paint for example and sent to Contact Network of Spam Authorities
    (CNSA...they will do something

    ReplyDelete



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...