Saturday, March 4, 2017

Eat Your Dirt - a Gardening Summit

Photos: Steve Masley

From March 5th - 11th an exciting online gardening conference is being held featuring some stellar soil experts. It's called Eat your Dirt.

Topics range from the soil food web and enhancing soil to composting, vermicomposting, permaculture and food forest design, hugelkultur, vertical farming, edible landscaping, growing organically, and living sustainably. 



Steven Masley is one of the speakers. Steve is a professional organic gardener working in California. His Grow It Organically website first steered me towards the use of oyster and egg shells to raise pH (very successfully, in my case, from 5.4 to 6.6 in one year). All the photos in this post are of gardens he has created.

Steve will be speaking on Vermicomposting (you know, vhen you farm vith verms?) and Potting Soil Mixes on Sunday, March 5th, at 9 pm EST (6 pm PST). On Monday, March 6th, at 6 pm EST (3 pm PST), he will be speaking on Container Gardening and Growing in Raised Beds.



The six-day conference also features Dr. Elaine Ingham of The Soil Food Web, Anne Bikle and David Montgomery, authors of The Hidden Half of Nature (about the importance of microbes in our lives), permaculture authorities Paul Wheaton, Michael Judd, Amy Stross, and William Horvath, urban homesteading designers Sarah Sailer and Carleen Madigan, and Grace Gershuny, Chelsea Green author of The Soul of the Soil, and Compost, Vermicompost and Compost Tea.



You can get a free pass that gives you rolling 48-hour access to ALL the conference content, including round table discussions, live Q and A sessions, and other live events throughout the week.  You can take a look at the conference schedule, make a note of talks you want to hear, then watch them within 48 hours of airing, free. (Once you have signed up you will receive an email with detailed instructions.)

If you like what you hear, you can sign up for an all access pass (currently $147, but $87 if you have the Free Pass) that gives you anytime-access to all of the conference content, 24/7.

Steve Masley will also be participating in two live Q and A Sessions on Monday, March 6th at 11 am EST (8 am PST) and Thursday, March 9th at 3 pm EST (Noon PST).  


_____________________

2 comments:

  1. I know in America you have a tougher way of expressions than we have here in Europe. I love your blog, but "eat your dirt" is not a beautiful title to me. Eating is beautiful, and I do not want to think of what the title proposes literally. Yours Giorgio

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Indeed, in American English many gardeners and non gardeners refer to soil as "dirt." It does not mean anything bad.

      I used to hate it then I became used to it!

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...